The Modify option is used to update several attributes of an existing snapshot. This can be completed by going to the properties page of a resource within PowerStore Manager, selecting the Protection tab, selecting a snapshot, and clicking Modify. The specific attributes that can be edited are resource-dependent and are further detailed below. For virtual machine snapshots, edits can only be made from vCenter. For volumes, volume groups, and their thin clones, users can view and edit the details of a snapshot by selecting a specific snapshot on the Protection tab within the properties window of the parent resource and clicking Modify. This opens the Details of Snapshot page. An example of the Details of Snapshot page for a volume group snapshot is shown in Figure 6.The user can choose to update the snapshot Name, Description, Local Retention Policy, and set the Secure Snapshot option. For the Local Retention Policy, the user has the option of selecting No Automatic Deletion or setting a Retain until date and time. In certain situations, changing a snapshot to no automatic deletion may be required, preserving the snapshot until it is determined that it is no longer needed. For volumes and thin clones of volumes and volume groups, the same information can be changed. The Secure Snapshot setting can be enabled after snapshot creation. When enabled, the retention policy cannot be changed to No Automatic Deletion and the Secure Snapshot option cannot be disabled. Additionally, when the Secure Snapshot setting is enabled, the Retain until date can be increased, but cannot be changed to a date that is sooner than the retention date set upon creation of the snapshot.
For file systems, only the Description and Local Retention Policy can be modified. Like other resources, this can occur at any point-in-time.
Figure 7 shows that the Name and File Snapshot Access Type are displayed within the Details of Snapshot page but cannot be edited.